Ross is a historic town located 78km south of Launceston and 117km north of Hobart, so it is really central to experience Tasmania, and the ideal place to stay a couple of days and visit the surrounding areas.
Discover the importance of Ross as an early settlement in Tasmania together with the surrounding farms and growing town. Join the many famous and not so famous who have walked the magnificent and splendid Elm Tree lined street in which time has stood still.
- Ross Bridge
- The well-known sandstone bridge was constructed by convict labour in 1836, and is the third oldest bridge still in use in Australia. Commissioned by Lieutenant-Governor Arthur, the bridge was designed by architect John Lee Archer, with the convict work team including two stonemasons, James Colbeck and Daniel Herbert, the latter being credited with the intricate carvings along both sides of the bridge.
- Female Factory
- The convict site dates back to the 1840s. Usually referred to as the Female Factory, it was one of only a few female convict compounds in Australia. There is one remaining building on the site, the Assistant Superintendent’s Quarters, which currently houses a display relating to the site.
- Former military and garrison buildings
- The Army Orderly Room is a stone Colonial building which was the first army headquarters in Ross. Nearby are the Royal Odenance Corps Store, with it’s carved crested doorway, the council clerk’s cottage, the drill hall and the garrison stables.
- The town of Ross has three churches, all located on elm-lined Church Street. The Uniting Church, situated prominently on the hilltop, was built in 1885 and is noted for its blackwood pews and carved baptismal font. The Roman Catholic Church building was originally a store and was converted in the 1920s in Gothic revival style. St John’s Anglican Church, on the corner of Badajos Street, was built in 1868 and contains a 100-year-old pipe organ, an oak lectern and a stone pulpit.
- Cemeteries and burial grounds
- The main cemetery, located to the south-east of the town centre, is divided into two sections – a Roman Catholic section and a Church of England section which is enclosed by a stone wall. The old military burial ground is located on a nearby hilltop.
- Experience the corner of Temptation, Salvation, Damnation and Recreation
- Need a description of what the corner actually is. Go for a conversational tone as if you were telling someone in person.
There is no need to go as far as sleeping like a convict, with cold stone floors and stone walls to imagine life in Ross. Come and stay in our internationally rated 4 Star motel with warm beds, heated rooms and friendly staff. No chills guaranteed! Just look for the 2 red telephone booths in the main street and you will see us down the little side street towards the river.
More information about Ross can be seen on www.visitross.com.au